Purity and Sexual Morality — Positive Sexuality for Orthodox Christian Teens

“If you save sex for marriage,

after all that time waiting,

and all the preparation,

your wedding night will be

the most beautiful thing you’ll ever experience.

The beginning of an adventure, together.”

That is what my 8th grade science teacher told our class, and even though I was not Christian at the time, I decided that that was what I wanted for my life. I approach this lesson for Orthodox Teens the same way– a presentation giving a fair, accurate depiction of the beauty that God has planned for us when we follow his plan of saving sex for marriage.

These are the three main questions, and answer I give. I use scripture, church fathers, pop culture, personal experience, and modern science to answer them.

Screen shot 2015-02-16 at 3.46.22 PM

This link will take you to view the powerpoint. Note that there are activities and explanation for most of the slides in the notes at the bottom. Email me and I’ll send you a copy of the powerpoint, but please comment below any way you changed it or if it was useful. Thanks!

 

BONUS: I gave handouts to them at the end of class that included 1) Chapter 4 from the book I Kissed Dating Goodbye, 2) This Orthodox blog post about waiting until marriage, 3) a letter I wrote to a friend on this topic, and 4) two pieces of fresh duct tape, inseparably taped together.

Leave a Reply

